Operations Insight: GP Prompted Access to Physiotherapy

I’m suffering from severe back pain and my doctor has decided I should see a physiotherapist.  But rather than contacting Physiotherapy Services and getting them to make a appointment with me, he explained I could ‘self-refer’.   He gave me a leaflet that explains that the NHS Somerset Partnership is piloting a ‘prompted access’ scheme.  This  allows the patient to contact a Physiotherapy Booking Office and make their own appointment.   The doctor identifies the degree of urgency of this by giving each patient a code.  (I was ‘code 1’ which means high priority).

This new scheme greatly simplifies the appointment process by reducing the number of stages involved, and hence speeds it up.   It also makes it easier for the patient to change the appointment.

This entry was posted in Chap 08 Queuing and customers, Sector: Public Services & Charities and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

